Cyber Reward Turns Into Rs 1.2 Lakh Fraud

KOCHI: Online cheating seems to have taken a new form if a case registered by the Kannamaly police is any indication. A Kannamaly resident recently lodged a complaint with the cyber cell claiming that a Delhi-based firm made an online transaction worth Rs1.20 lakh by using his credit card after making him believe that he was earning shopping reward points.
 
The complaint was lodged by K L Mathew, a supplier of books. The Kannamaly police registered a cheating case and under the Information Technology Act. “We have registered a case against the portal and started an investigation. The two phone numbers, which were used by the caller, were handed over to the cyber cell to track the details,” said circle inspector Manikantan M V, Mattancherry. He said that it was the first such case in the city.
 
In his complaint, Mathew, a regular online shopper, stated that he was duped by promising a high-end car and other luxury items if his credit card reward point reached 100 points. He was contacted by a person, who claimed to be from the online shopping portal, shopit4me.com, on his mobile number on May1. The caller asked him to provide his credit card number to add reward points.
 
“I was told by the caller that my credit card points have reached 93 points and if it touches 100, I would receive gifts such as high-end cars and other luxury items. I thought it was genuine as the caller knew my personal details, including address. When he suggested adding remaining points, I told him that I am don’t need anything now. But he said that the remaining points would be added freely and asked me to provide the credit card number,” said Mathew.
 
The complainant realised that he was cheated only after he a received call and a message from his bank about a purchase worth Rs1.20 lakh. “Though I immediately called the numbers from which I received calls, both were switched off. I blocked my credit card. Later, I approached the branch where I have an account and they confirmed that the money was deducted from my credit card,” said Mathew, adding that he lodged a complaint after two mails sent to the company went unanswered.
 
The victim has now received a monthly statement from the bank asking him to pay the amount in a month’s time. But he is yet to make the payment as the police have advised him against it.
Credit Sudhaar is India’s first Credit Health management & improvement company whose goal is to help clients to Restore, Enhance and Protect their Credit and make them credit healthy.

CS IdentityShield helps you to Monitor, Protect and Recover your Identity from multiple risks.
Courtesy: Times of India